Author Topic: 1.5.3 crashing entering text  (Read 683 times)

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
1.5.3 crashing entering text
« on: January 30, 2018, 03:18:39 pm »
So I'm 25 pages into my 55 page document and Scribus has started returning to desktop if I copy text into the next text frame of the next chapter.
Saves of previously completed chapters do it too.

Any suggestions? Reinstall Scribus?
cheers

Les

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 03:23:33 pm »
...and if I copy the text into the story editor, Scribus RTDs after saving & exiting story editor.
cheers

Les

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 03:36:25 pm »
Well, it's stopped doing it now, so I suppose that's alright. Confused.  ::)
cheers

Les

RodneyLee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 04:57:43 pm »
I had similar problems, got rid of styles, that helped, cleared tabs and did them new, also loaded file into 1.5.4 as it had stopped loading into 1.5.3 anyway mines all working again
could have been memory issue (Scribus and Me)

Fribleski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2018, 12:51:54 pm »
I had the same problem: program crashes when inserting a column break on a new line without text on it

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
  • Karma: 25
  • Scribus User
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2018, 02:46:52 pm »
I could not reproduce this problem on 1.4.6, but I've not done exhaustive testing.

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1532
  • Karma: 23
    • the graphics lab
Re: 1.5.3 crashing entering text
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2018, 03:24:15 pm »
works here with the latest 1.5.4svn...

this might have been fixed already...
can you try with a development snapshot?
(the place where you can get it, depends on your operating system)

 

palmate