What is the best work flow for long documents?

Previous topic - Next topic

manne

Hi,
I am relatively new to Scribus but have managed to create a 50 page "book" on my family's history, so not a total newbie. My biggest problem as the document grew larger, was that changing or adding text, adding images etc., would result in images further ahead in the document would end up in the wrong place, as would hyperlink frames, all because the text is "pushed" forward by the newly added stuff.
What is the best way to cope with this? I have read that some people split long documents into chunks, thereby minimizing the extra editorial work when you add stuff to your document. But then how do you merge everything together when it is time for publishing your work? I'd rather not end up with 5-10 separate PDFs.

Nermander

It was a while since I did major work with Scribus, but I'd say that one of the primary things you should consider is to create the contents in another program than Scribus. Only use Scribus for doing the layout, not the editing.

Working with smaller chunks mainly helps with memory issues and many linked text frames, text moving due to inserted text will still move even if you have split into several documents.

As for joining the parts, Scribus can import pages from one document to another.

Also it is possible to generate 5-10 PDFs and then concatenate them to the final PDF (there are many tools available for joining PDFs).

utnik

hi manne

the optimal workflow depends a lot on the style of your layout.

• in a mostly text based project you should try to split the chains of linked text frames into logical parts (like chapters...) to keep changes manageable. but there's not much more you can do here...
  • if your layout depends on carefully edited spreads of facing pages, you should keep them separately (not in different files, but no linked frames between them...) and add a full spreed where you need more place.