How to create a text table in Scribus

Previous topic - Next topic

Edoz

Hello, I'm new to this scribus forum.. i'm using scribus for a couple years now .. and i like it! ..  But can someone tell me what the best way is to make a text table ?

I just want a simple table (Like in MS word) with different collums and rows where i can put some text in it ?
I was looking at the manual but was unable to find it.

There is a table option but i'm unable to do something with text..

Hope anyone can help me ?

Nermander

The table support in Scribus is not very good, but as long as you don't need any line wrapping within a single cell and can live without lines (and really, using lines for tables is often considered bad design) you can make your tables using TABs instead.

Wena

I am also a newbe.

I haven't needed a table so fare but depending on your needs and if you find the table menu a problem. How about, first making the table as a drawing on paper, scanning it into your computer as an image then with scribus layers put a text box on top of the image. Then fill them in as per requirement.

On alternative way might be to make you table using the lines system in scribus. That would give you  more control, you can then move the lines if you if you found that more space was needed.

I have seen a video tutorial on a web, I think it's called "Ho-to"

I will have a look at the tables system to see if I can find the way to use it.

Wena

Edoz

Scan in a paper and draw a table by using self created lines sound a little bit bad to me ;)
Maybe it's better to create a table in word and use this as a picture in this case.

i'm using the TAB solution in a textbox at this moment .. but this is just a text based solution.

BDW: I see a table option in scribus where you can create rows and columns but .. if i see the propeties
there not a lot you can configure ..  Were is this option for ?

Any other suggestions ?

Nermander