Author Topic: Frames with transparent border  (Read 265 times)

masfur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Frames with transparent border
« on: October 10, 2017, 07:20:22 am »
Hi!
I would like to set a transparent border to my frames. If "none" is set, the border turns black black. How can I do it?
Thank you.

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1300
  • Karma: 19
    • the graphics lab
Re: Frames with transparent border
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 09:37:38 am »
where does it turn black? in scribus?

never seen such an issue...
it should really work

can you share a sample .sla to show us exactly what you are doing?

ciao
a.l.e

masfur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Frames with transparent border
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 11:03:26 am »
Thank you.
Here the file.

masfur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Frames with transparent border
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 11:07:39 am »
Instead, I found out that in Scribus 1.5.3 there is the possibility on the colours of the area to define the transparent outline. But in 1.4.6 version...

masfur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Frames with transparent border
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 11:18:44 am »
I solved it on my own! In the "colors" section of the fill, I discovered an icon for the edge (a little hidden).
Thank you.

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1432
  • Karma: 22
  • Scribus User
Re: Frames with transparent border
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 02:50:09 pm »
NOTES:
* Transparency - or, to use the term used in Scribus, Opacity (the opposite of Transparency) - should not be used to 'make something invisible', and it should certainly not be used to 'switch something off'. There is always a better way to do this.
* If you want a line or a fill to be invisible then use "None" for its colour.
* If you want an object to be temporarily invisible then move it to a different layer and switch that layer off.
* Transparency/opacity should not be used to make a lighter shade of a colour, the "Shade" setting should be used for this.
* PDF 1.3 does not allow for transparencies so anything with an Opacity of less than 100% will be displayed at full 100% Opacity (see attached sample documents: original SLA, PDF 1.3, PDF 1.4, and PDF 1.5).
* Generally it is best to stay away from the Opacity settings unless you absolutely need to use them and you know what the potential problems could be. Not using them means that you shouldn't have any strange results later on.

 

palmate