Scribusoid

Author Topic: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3  (Read 710 times)

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« on: June 30, 2017, 02:21:09 pm »
Hi all,

Yesterday, I downloaded version 1.5.3 because I have now to make use of RTL (right to left) languages like arabic and hebrew, and the good old 1.4.5 version was not supporting them.

In my document I have a cover a left and a right master page. In all of them I insert the page number with Ctrl+Alt+Shift+P or the new "insert/char/page number" feature of the story editing box. I normally get a red # sign inseted as in the old release. However when I close the master page editing, in my document I see a "3" for the cover, "1" for the left and "2" for the right pages and the same result I get on the pdf I export...

Is there a remedy for this bug(?) or what thing am I doing wrong?

Thanks...

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 04:05:13 pm »
Isn't there anyone to help me?

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1431
  • Karma: 22
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 05:25:36 pm »
Sorry vasilkadifeli but I can't help you as I keep away from the developmental versions of Scribus nowadays.

This forum doesn't have a lot of active members so it can sometimes take a while for questions to be answered (especially for the developmental versions as they have fewer users).

If you need a quicker response you can try the mailing list https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Scribus_-_Mailing_Lists or IRC #scribus on freenode.net (which you can also find here https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Special:WebChat but I think the WebChat only works if you have a wiki login.)

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 07:23:23 pm »
Many Thanks Garry,
That's not a great problem I can put the page numers myself or the moment.
It seems that I was able to enter the WebChat feature.
Should I throw my question right in the middle among those who are chatting :-)

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1300
  • Karma: 19
    • the graphics lab
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2017, 08:59:19 pm »
hi vasil,

can you share a sample .sla showing the issue?

... and, sadly, i just saw you quitting the irc channel...
and, yes you should have thrown your question...

ciao
a.l.e

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2017, 09:44:13 pm »
I tried to attach the .sla file but I couldn't upload it, I get an error...

Another problem is that although I can handle now the RTL languages like arabic and persian, the normal LTR Georgian alphabet doesn't display....

In the WebChat I Just didn't want to get in the middle of a conversation...

Thanks in advance...

joesber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
    • José Escobedo
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2017, 02:47:51 pm »
Have you tried to add the page number within the master pages, and then apply the master pages to the regular ones?
I have never had a problem with inserting the numbering.

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2017, 09:56:51 pm »
The page count is always in my master pages.
But That's not a problem anymore. I found out that when the "page count field item" is grouped with other items on the master pages it creates that problem in the document. So I ungrouped them and the problem went away. I reported this to user a.l.e but as I do not know every one here I don't know if he is responsible to take care such bugs or should I report it to someone or somewhere else...

The other problem with RTL languages I do not know how to solve.
I cannot use the Georgian ,Chinese etc alphabets in the text box. Do I have to use some special font? which one?
Actually I can insert such language texts to notepad and word but I cannot copy them into the scribus text boxes. They appear as little squares...

Thanks...

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • Karma: 13
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2017, 12:07:12 am »
hi vasil

…should I report it to someone or somewhere else…

the right place is bugs.scribus.net.
Quote
The other problem with RTL languages…

…Do I have to use some special font?

you need a font with the glyphs for your language. (noto suports lots of langugages…)

utnik

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2017, 03:43:18 pm »
I downloaded the Noto Sans Devanagari and the Noto Serif Devanagari though nothing has changed. Devanagari is the Bengali aŭ Hindi script...
I do not think it is a font problem,  because in notepad, in word, in excell I can enter Bengali script with Arial...

This is what I have typed in the text box with arial :

"(fakte Rabindranath Thakur; bengale রবীন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুর)"

What I get on the screen after I close the text box is just squares for the bengali text... and it doesn't make any difference if I change the font of the Devanagari script to Noto Sans Devanagari or if I leave it at Arial :

The same is true in the generated pdf.

I have no problem so far with greek, arabic etc... But the Georgian, Chinese, Japanese, Bengali and may be others do not work...

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • Karma: 13
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2017, 04:21:23 pm »
hi vasil

i almost never used those characters, but for the rare ocasions when i needed some chinese signs, scribus worked well, as long as i selected a font wich contains them.
…but in scribus i can't write chinese signs with 'arial', wich is not a problem in libreoffice writer, where the missing characters will automatically be 'borrowed' from another font (without any warning!) – it's your choice if you call this 'bad' or 'handy'

I downloaded the Noto Sans Devanagari and the Noto Serif Devanagari though nothing has changed. Devanagari is the Bengali aŭ Hindi script...

for bengali i would recommend 'noto sans bengali' and 'noto serif bengali' – but you're the specialist…

utnik
« Last Edit: November 29, 2017, 04:23:21 pm by utnik »

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2017, 06:09:28 pm »
I am not a specialist  :D but many thanks because I understood and solved my issue...

I searched the windows fonts according to their "designed for" option and found out which one is to be used for the Georgian.. There is actually just one "Sylfaen Regular"...

I also found suitable fonts for devanagari and chinese (I think this will work for other alphabets too)...

So I am now able to use those alphabets in my projects.

However the fonts I downloaded from Noto for Devanagari (the bengali language) didn't work and they do not display in the font list as designed for Devanagari... this field is empty on the list... May be there is a need for some other trick but I for now solved my issue...

Thanks again...


vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2017, 06:12:08 pm »
I understand Arial does not support many of the alphabets...

But the "Arial Unicode MS - Version 1.01" has more:

https://www.microsoft.com/typography/fonts/font.aspx?FMID=1081

 

palmate