Author Topic: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3  (Read 191 times)

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« on: June 30, 2017, 02:21:09 pm »
Hi all,

Yesterday, I downloaded version 1.5.3 because I have now to make use of RTL (right to left) languages like arabic and hebrew, and the good old 1.4.5 version was not supporting them.

In my document I have a cover a left and a right master page. In all of them I insert the page number with Ctrl+Alt+Shift+P or the new "insert/char/page number" feature of the story editing box. I normally get a red # sign inseted as in the old release. However when I close the master page editing, in my document I see a "3" for the cover, "1" for the left and "2" for the right pages and the same result I get on the pdf I export...

Is there a remedy for this bug(?) or what thing am I doing wrong?

Thanks...

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 04:05:13 pm »
Isn't there anyone to help me?

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
  • Karma: 19
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2017, 05:25:36 pm »
Sorry vasilkadifeli but I can't help you as I keep away from the developmental versions of Scribus nowadays.

This forum doesn't have a lot of active members so it can sometimes take a while for questions to be answered (especially for the developmental versions as they have fewer users).

If you need a quicker response you can try the mailing list https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Scribus_-_Mailing_Lists or IRC #scribus on freenode.net (which you can also find here https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Special:WebChat but I think the WebChat only works if you have a wiki login.)

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2017, 07:23:23 pm »
Many Thanks Garry,
That's not a great problem I can put the page numers myself or the moment.
It seems that I was able to enter the WebChat feature.
Should I throw my question right in the middle among those who are chatting :-)

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1173
  • Karma: 18
    • the graphics lab
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2017, 08:59:19 pm »
hi vasil,

can you share a sample .sla showing the issue?

... and, sadly, i just saw you quitting the irc channel...
and, yes you should have thrown your question...

ciao
a.l.e

vasilkadifeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Cannot insert page numbers in 1.5.3
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2017, 09:44:13 pm »
I tried to attach the .sla file but I couldn't upload it, I get an error...

Another problem is that although I can handle now the RTL languages like arabic and persian, the normal LTR Georgian alphabet doesn't display....

In the WebChat I Just didn't want to get in the middle of a conversation...

Thanks in advance...