Setting resolution of pdf export

Previous topic - Next topic

freya_h

Hello everyone,
I'm fairly new to Scribus and haven't been able to find a solution to this issue in the forum...

1. I want to export a file as pdf (1.4) in at least 300 dpi resolution for printing. I have tried different settings for "maximum image resolution" and "resolution for EPS graphics", but in the end, the file is always exported at 72 dpi. How do I change this?

2. Since the printer also accepts jpg and tif files, I tried exporting the file as an image. However, jpg and tif are not shown as options in the dropdown, only bmp, png, ppm, xbm and xpm. Why do I not have all options available? I'm using Scribus 1.4.6 on Mac.

Thanks

a.l.e

hi freya

welcome to scribus!

a quick answer:

- you should export (and deliver to the printer) a pdf. ignore the other formats.
- if possible, you should not change the resolution when exporting. you should crop and scale your image in an image editor so that they match the final resolution.
- if possible, you should not use eps images, but -- depending on the content of the image and the source --:
  - jpg (for normal photo and a "normal" output)
  - tiff (for a photo and high quality/resolution output)
  - png (for logos or images that are not a photo)
  - svg (or pdf) if the eps is a vector image.

does this somehow answer your question?

ciao
a.l.e

freya_h

Hi a.l.e.,

If I understand correctly, you are suggesting that I export the file to pdf at 72 dpi and then scale it to 300 dpi using an image editor. However, that seems unnecessarily complicated since I had already set up the file in Scribus to be exactly the desired print dimensions. is there no way to simply change the export resolution?

thanks!

a.l.e

no, i'm suggesting you not to use EPS files.

use TIFF, JPEG or PNG (or SVG) instead. depending on the content.
and prepare those file outside of scribus to match the final size you need in your pdf.