Re-create font cache?

Previous topic - Next topic

southwindows

Quote from: utnik on May 31, 2017, 01:03:37 PM
windows may have different font folders (at least one for system wide use and one for every user) – and scribus checks them all...

I'm familiar with the multiple fonts folder setup on Mac OS, and have heard that Linux works that way too (but I have no personal experience with it).  I've been involved in font development for many years, working mainly on Windows and have never heard of anything but the single Windows/Fonts folder as far as the system is concerned; I don't believe there are separate user fonts folders.  Some apps, like Scribus, may look at additional paths but I already eliminated that possibility.

southwindows

Thank you GarryP.

Quote from: GarryP on May 31, 2017, 01:58:24 PM
I have a strong feeling that Scribus itself isn't maintaining a font cache but is using "fontconfig" to do so. 
This would make sense as, since fontconfig stores its data completely separately from Scribus (on Windows in, AppData/Local/fontconfig/cache), uninstalling Scribus makes no difference.

I'm not familiar with fontconfig.  What you say makes sense, but are you sure that fontconfig is used on Windows?  (Cf. my reply to utnik.)  I located a fontconfig cache that was last modified in November 2015 so it doesn't look like it's been used with my recent Scribus testing.

QuoteI think it would be a good idea for Scribus to include a function . . . to destroy its current cache and re-build it from scratch.

This would be useful, not just in cases like this, but also when a user has deleted fonts that they no longer need.
For an application like Scribus, where fonts are its "bread and butter", I don't think this is asking for too much.
I agree completely.

GarryP

southwindows, I have no knowledge of fontconfig either. I simply looked at https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Scribus_Dependencies and it was listed there so I - stupidly - assumed it was being used.