End a line with a different colour ?

Previous topic - Next topic

Diplo95

Hello,
I'm new in scribus and I'm looking for a way to do something like that :

I can't find a way to finish a line with a different colour.
Thanks for the help

Nermander

You probably have to use a colored rectangle for it.

a.l.e

iirc, with scribus 1.4 there is a trick to do that by using the underline width and offset. but i cannot recall how exactly it did work.

in 1.5 you can add a right aligned tabulator that goes to the right margin and use a background color.
it's not exactly the same but...

personally, i don't know what's a good way to set create such a widget... any idea? (for sure, once the basic functionality is there, people will for want rounded corners and create a dotted pattern...)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Nermander

I think the best way might be to do it "backwards":

Place a colored line across the full column width, and use white background for the text (thus "overwriting" the line with text on white background).

GarryP

Diplo95, you have a couple of other options:

A. You could use the same technique as mentioned here http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,2314.msg10605.html#msg10605  as can be seen in the attached screenshot (top) but with a large outline (I've used 72%) and offsetting the "block" from the baseline in Advanced Settings (I've used 10%).
One issue you might have is that this technique uses outlining in a way that it's not really meant to be used and so you could have a display problem where the em dashes meet (as can be seen at the top of the blue block as a slight "square wave").

B. A lot of fonts contain "block" characters. To use these (as in the bottom screen shot):
* Double-click a text frame, then choose menu "Insert -> Glyph...".
* Press the Show Palette icon (looks like a table).
* Select Character Class "Block Elements".
* If your font has one then choose the largest.