Just Started - First Attempt

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank1952

I've been creating magazines for several years in a number of different DTP apps, but this is the first time I've tried out Scribus. It was a very short learning curve and I'm very happy with the way the application works. Here is my first attempt of a cover. Maybe I'll come back and post some of the inside page layouts.

[attachment deleted by admin]

GarryP

Nicely done Frank1952.

I have some minor comments if I may:

1. I like the way you've let the picture do most of the talking. The text is needed to give the potential reader an idea of what's inside but it's good that it doesn't get in the way of the image. A photo art magazine is all about the photos so why clutter the cover with unnecessary text? I think you've got it right.

2. At first I didn't like the colour of the logotype - I thought it was too "striking" - but after looking at it a bit more I'm coming round to liking it more. My thought process was something like: "Ooh, that's a bit bold isn't it? But hang on, that picture is nice and, yes, it somehow looks right to me now." Maybe it's something to do with the focus of the image, I don't know.

3. The text of "Special Feature" isn't quite vertically centred within the semi-transparent area. I don't know if that was deliberate or just because it can be difficult doing it manually in Scribus. One "trick" you can use - if you know that the text isn't going to change - is to convert the text to outlines and use the alignment tools to centre it. Not a great fix but it works.