Is there any command line script to convert idml to pdf by using Scribus?

Previous topic - Next topic

raymondnexsoftech

Hi all, I'm new to Scribus
I'm now doing some automatic conversion from idml file to pdf in linux server.
Is there any way to convert it by command line instead of open it from Graphic interface?

Thanks for the help

a.l.e

no, it's not currently possible to start scribus without in some way also start the user interface.

but there are ways for "hiding" the ui and you shoud also be able to keep scribus open and process a bunch of files as soon as they come in.

if you need a consultant, just raise your hand : - )

dragonfly

If indeed you are running a (remote) server it is difficult to see how you can run Scribus GUI which is designed to run on desktop and not as a service.

However you could look here at ssh X ...

https://askubuntu.com/questions/886313/what-is-the-simplest-way-to-have-remote-gui-access-to-ubuntu-16-04-server-from

Are you thinking of running a conversion service?

raymondnexsoftech

Quote from: a.l.e on June 17, 2020, 08:29:37 AM
no, it's not currently possible to start scribus without in some way also start the user interface.

but there are ways for "hiding" the ui and you shoud also be able to keep scribus open and process a bunch of files as soon as they come in.

if you need a consultant, just raise your hand : - )

Thanks.
Is there any tutorial / instruction that I can have a look on it?

Quote from: dragonfly on June 17, 2020, 05:41:28 PM
If indeed you are running a (remote) server it is difficult to see how you can run Scribus GUI which is designed to run on desktop and not as a service.

However you could look here at ssh X ...

https://askubuntu.com/questions/886313/what-is-the-simplest-way-to-have-remote-gui-access-to-ubuntu-16-04-server-from

Are you thinking of running a conversion service?

Thanks for your link
And yes, kind of a conversion service