Hyperlink works in Evince, but not in Acrobat Reader

Previous topic - Next topic

owlbrudder

I am just learning the ropes with Scribus and PDFs, so please forgive me if I am doing something stupid.

I am running Fedora 19 Linux.

To test how to cretae hyperlinks, I have created a document consisting of two text boxes. For one, I have created an external hyperlink to www.google.com. For the other, I have created an external hyperlink to a dummy mailto: address. I have exported the document as a PDF.

When I open the PDF in Evince, the hyperlink to the web address works as I expect, but the mailto: opens a browser tab in an existing instance of Firefox, as well as initiating an Evolution email to the correct address - is this normal? It is only a minor issue, but may indicate I am doing something incorrectly.

More worryingly, when I open this PDF (or any PDF containing hyperlinks) in Acrobat Reader (I am running version 9.5.5), web address hyperlinks do not work at all, even though the mouse pointer changes to a pointing hand, but mailto: hyperlinks open a new browser instance with a 'New Tab' tab and a tab for the mailto: address, then three blank Evolution emails are created, all initialised to the email address specified in the link. None of this behaviour is what I expected.

To test this, have a look at this PDF: www.csiro.au/files/files/plje.pdf‎ On the second page, near the bottom, is an instance of a web address and of a mailto: address. These work as described above for Acrobat Reader, but neither link is recognised at all by Evince (the mouse pointer does not even change as I pass over them), indicating to me that there is a difference in the way they have been created, perhaps?

This is important to me, as I plan to create a club newsletter that will be distributed by email and will contain hyperlinks, so I need to know it will work for all users regardless of platform: most will be running Windows, I expect.

All suggestions will be gratefully received.