NEWBIE: How to deal with super HD image files in Scribus?

Previous topic - Next topic

rempit123

Hi all I'm a Scribus newbie, my question is simple, I am doing a banner size about 10feet by 10 feet with about 4 logos and a huge background image, they are all in hi-res tiff format created by my favourite app Photoshop CS4.

Ok now, my newbie question is, I want to arrange 4 logos and the background image into Scribus, how to do it?

that's all and thanks in advance

Nermander

Well, create image frames, Get Image and place the frames where you want them...

rempit123

Quote from: Nermander on October 09, 2013, 07:41:19 AM
Well, create image frames, Get Image and place the frames where you want them...

Thanks for your quick reply, wow!
1. ...so, which means I only do the layout, measurement etc in Scribus and keep my Photoshop tiff files untouch in a separate folder, right?

2. ...and what about when i want to send/email the Scribus+Photoshop tiff files out (to my printer) for printing into real banner? What format is best for this?

utnik

hi rempit

the required file will most probably be some .pdf format – your printer will tell you wich one...

utnik

rempit123

Quote from: utnik on October 09, 2013, 08:46:49 AM
hi rempit

the required file will most probably be some .pdf format – your printer will tell you wich one...

utnik

OK, so what I need to do is to save the file into *****.pdf maybe plus the Scribus work file as well, right?

utnik

hi rempit

Quote from: rempit123 on October 09, 2013, 10:55:46 AMwhat I need to do is to save the file into *****.pdf maybe plus the Scribus work file as well, right?

you should ask your printer. he will probably give you an output profile and he knows, wich .pdf format he can process...
i don't know if your printer will deal with the workfile. if he does, you'll need the 'collect for output' function to collect all the required images, fonts and color profiles.

utnik

rempit123