Problem importing ODT files from Word

Previous topic - Next topic

Antlab

Hi all.
I am new to Scribus, but I am reading a lot of guides and tutorials, because I would like to use it for some new projects, in particular for self published books.
I found a problem when importing Word files, saved in ODT to try maintaining the format.
When I import the text in a Scribus frame, I obtain a strange behaviour, with the text completely "deformed" in the x-y ratio.
I also tried with an ODT file directly saved from Libre Office, and in that case the importation seems working correctly.
Is it a known problem or is there some way to solve the issue (I would prefer to use Word instead than LO, as I am very used to it).
Thanks.

GarryP

Sounds odd. There have been other people on the forum having problems with importing text but none I could find where the text was being "deformed".

It sounds like some kind of "style corruption" thing but I'm not even sure what I mean by that. (Have you checked your Scribus styles to make sure none are "deformed"? It could be that a style is being applied mistakenly.)

As a possible workaround, does Word allow you to use ODTs "natively", i.e. create an ODT and Save, rather than create a DOC and then Save As ODT? Doing so would allow you to use Word but with the benefit of not having to convert, which is where I think the problem may lie.

P.S. Scribus doesn't do Character Styles when importing, as yet. So if you have any of those in your Word document that could be causing an issue.

Antlab

Quote from: GarryP on August 21, 2013, 02:13:24 PM
Sounds odd. There have been other people on the forum having problems with importing text but none I could find where the text was being "deformed".

It sounds like some kind of "style corruption" thing but I'm not even sure what I mean by that. (Have you checked your Scribus styles to make sure none are "deformed"? It could be that a style is being applied mistakenly.)